Successful Open Week at Lisburn GC

Colin Sweet, Ivor walker, Neil McLeese (the eventual winner) and Ian Suffern about to tee off in the Barbour Cup.
Colin Sweet, Ivor walker, Neil McLeese (the eventual winner) and Ian Suffern about to tee off in the Barbour Cup.

The Barbour Cup ended a very successful Lisburn Open Week with over three hundred competitors taking part in the Philips (Lisburn) sponsored event.

The course was in excellent condition for one of the main events in the Lisburn calendar. After holing a long putt for a par on the first green, Neil McLeese (8) ran up a double bogey six at the second but recovered with three threes in a row to reach the turn in 37. His short game remained in top condition as he finished with three pars for a back nine of 37 for a net score of 66.

Neil McLeese with the Barbour Cup.

Neil McLeese with the Barbour Cup.

Michael Rooney (19) also finished on 66 but paid dearly for a double bogey six at 16 to leave Neil with the trophy. Martin Lilley (8) was two over par after five holes and then shot 12 pars in a row only to finish with a bogey four for a net 67.

Stephen Shaw (5) had two birdie twos in his round of 73 for a net 68.

Chris McKnight (4) went out in 33 to lead the field but sixes at 11 and 12 gave him a back nine of 41 for a net 70.

Graeme Arthur and Ryan Symington had the best gross score with rounds of 70. Graeme’s back nine of 35 clinched top spot on count-back.

Other Open Week results:

Draynes Farms Open Stableford (White Tees) 1st Dylan Leathem 42pts, 2nd Peter Creighton 39pts, 3rd Michael Allison 38pts.

Draynes Farms over 60s (Yellow Tees) 1st Norman Briggs 43pts, 2nd Jim Burns 42pts, 3rd Raymond McGerr 41pts.

Briggs Equipment Wednesday Open: 1st Jack Shellard 42pts, 2nd Trevor Doak 39pts

3rd David McDowell 38pts.

Briggs Equipment Thursday Open: 1st Glyn Owen 44pts, 2nd Thomas Jeffers 40pts, 3rd Ian Briggs 40pts.

Scratch Cup

After a brilliant opening round of 67 Aaron Marshall added a second round of 79 to win the Lisburn Open Scratch Cup. He finished two strokes ahead of Dale Jackson with Stephen Watts and Stephen Coulter on 149. Jack Shellard added a 79 to a first round of 74 to tie with Chris Moulds on 153 with Kyle Patton one stroke behind on 154.

Fifty competitors took part in the event with Ryan Symington, last year’s winner, finishing on 159.