Success for local runners at NI Road Relay championships

The successful City of Lisburn AC team. Pic by
The successful City of Lisburn AC team. Pic by

A record number of teams and runners took part in the 2015 Athletics NI (Road) Relay Championships, incorporating the NI Masters Athletics Association Relay Championships, in Victoria Park, Belfast on Saturday (3rd October).

The event was hosted by East Belfast based Orangegrove Athletics Club.

A total number of 151 relay teams entered the increasingly popular event whilst in excess of 200 primary school and junior runners competed in the; primary school, U13, U15 and U17 races.

Orangegrove AC’s Chair and Race Director, Mary Boyd hailed the event as a huge success, saying: “Thank you to all the clubs and runners from right across Northern Ireland who supported the event and helped to make this year’s Road Relay Championships bigger and better than ever before – it really was a festival of running.

“The hard work of our many club members and volunteers over many weeks ahead of the Championships and on the day itself helped to make what is a considerable logistical challenge run smoothly – thank you one and all.

“We must also recognise the part played by the team at Belfast City Council and Victoria Park plus our other partners and sponsors in making the day a success, their support is greatly appreciated.

“I want to congratulate not just those who secured podium places but each and every runner in the nine races. Every competitor gave their all and contributed to a thrilling day’s racing which was enjoyed by the many spectators and showcased the local athletics community at its very best.”


Girls U13: 1st Victoria Lightbody - City of Lisburn AC, 2nd Hannah Cochrane - City of Lisburn AC, 3rd Connie Carruthers - City of Lisburn AC

Boys U13: 1st Dylan McBride – Willowfield Temperance Harriers, 2nd Paul Carty – Lagan Valley AC, 3rd Ryan McDowell – Dromore AC

Boys U15: 1st Tim Scott – Lagan Valley AC, 2nd Matthew Caves – Willowfield Temperance Harriers, 3rd Sean McIntyre – Derry City Track Club.

Masters: Top 3 Masters Ladies Teams (3 x 3,380m): 1st City of Lisburn AC – 36:38, 2nd North Belfast Harriers – 37:21, 3rd Ballymena Runners - 37:51

Top 3 Masters Men’s Teams (4 x 3,380m): 1st Willowfield Harriers – 41:51, 2nd North Belfast Harriers – 42:40, 3rd Ballymena Runners – 43:17


Top 3 Senior Ladies Teams (3 x 3,380m): 1st Newcastle AC – 34:30, 2nd North Belfast Harriers – 34:37, 3rd North Down AC – 35:23

Top 3 Senior Men’s teams (4 x 3,380m): 1st North Belfast Harriers – 40:29, 2nd St Malachy’s AC – 41:21, 3rd North Down AC – 41:31

More detailed results can be found at: