Over one hundred golfers brave the elements

Mervyn Algie, Leslie Cross and Michael Maxwell about to tee off at Lisburn.
Mervyn Algie, Leslie Cross and Michael Maxwell about to tee off at Lisburn.

There may have been snow on Colin Mountain but over one hundred golfers braved the conditions at Lisburn to compete in last week’s Winter League.

Luckily the rain stayed away although the course was very damp.

The 12th hole was shortened due to renovation work on a drain. The tee was moved forward to make it a ‘par three’.

This resulted in some very high points recorded at this hole.

Noel Robinson (13) was one of 37 competitors to record a three there and he completed the back nine in 35 for 26 points. This made him a clear winner of Division 1.

Norman McNellis (3) was second with 23 points. After a three at the 12th he had a birdie three at the 16th for a round of 33. Philip Sanaghan and Stephen Stewart were one point behind.

There was a four way tie at the top of Division 2 with Des Kerr (17), Barry Cathcart (17), David Megrath (19) and Colin Todd (17) finishing on 23.

Des finished with three pars to win on count back while Colin’s failure to get a five or better at the final hole proved disastrous.

John McMillan (24) finished with two pars to win Division 3 with 24 points. Eric Wilkinson (24) was one point behind with six players on 22: Billy Lutton, Roy Catney, David Wilson, Fergal McDonnell, John Mercer and Michael Glover.

Only three birdie twos were recorded: Gavin Hawkins, Jim Cunningham and David Megrath, all at the 13th.

Divisional Leaders

The overall Divisional Leaders with the best 4 out of 6 rounds are:

Division 1: Noel Robinson (84), Ben Kirkwood (83), Mark Jamison (81), Norman McNellis (80)

Division 2: Brian Wilkinson (82), Bob Hope (79),Leslie Cross (77)

Division 3: Eric Wilkinson (77), Chris Scott (77), Ian Shane (77).

Eclectic competition (back nine) 27 points: Colin Sweet, Noel Robinson, Ben Kirkwood, Barry Cathcart , Des Kerr, John McMillan, Jim McBratney, Mike Glover, John Millward , Ian Shane, Eric Wilkinson.

Eclectic competition (front nine) 27 points: Billy Lutton.

Sunday Winter league: 1st Ivor Walker 25 pts, 2nd Michael McNeice 24 pts, 3rd Des Kerr 24 pts. Closest to the flag at 4th David Galway. Closest to the flag at 6th Mark Jamieson.