Local parkrun goes from strength to strength as it marks third year

Winners of the Wallace parkrun.
Winners of the Wallace parkrun.

Wallace parkrun had their third anniversary celebrations on 5th March 2016.

The Wallace parkrun started on 2nd March 2013, and since then 2,877 different runners, including participants from 113 athletics clubs, have completed 17,586 runs covering a total distance of 87,930 km, and there have been 4,251 new Personal Bests.

They average 115 runners each week and this is made up of runners of all ages and abilities.

Parkrun is all about making running accessible to all, in your local park, and for free.

Every time you run you earn points and the end of each year parkrun like to award prizes to their top three participants.

The winners of the prizes were:

Junior Women

1st - Rachel McCullough; 2nd - Kayla Grimley; 3rd - Rebecca Magee.

Junior Men

1st - Nathan Howe; 2nd - Dean Grimley; 3rd - Harry Moore .

Senior Women

1st - Anne Donnelly; 2nd - Julia McNeice; 3rd - Tracey Graham.

Senior Men

1st - John McConnell; 2nd - Gary Green; 3rd - Eamon McCaighy.