Lisburn’s late finishers get soaked in tough conditions

Jimmy and Raymond Lockhart about to tee off at Lisburn.
Jimmy and Raymond Lockhart about to tee off at Lisburn.

The weather forecasters got it right last Saturday when the rain came in the early afternoon to make conditions miserable for the late finishers in the Lisburn Winter league.

The competition was played over the back nine holes. Most of the one hundred competitors had finished before the heavy rain fell. Those left on the course were soaked with a few failing to complete the nine holes.

Darren Welsh (12) and Gavin Hawkins (13) topped the leader board with 22 points.

Their scores could not be separated on the usual last six, last three or last hole so the outcome was resolved by the best score at the index one hole.

Darren’s five at 11 against Gavin’s six clinched top spot in Division 1. Philip Sanaghan (12) and Brian Patterson (13) finished one point behind.

Jim Burns (15) was a clear winner of Division 2 with 21 points. Five players finished on 19: Roy Welsh (18), Mark McAlpine (16), Joe Davey (19), Leslie Cross (14) and Martin McDonald (19). Roy’s three at the final hole helped to claim second place.

There was a triple tie at the top of Division 3 with David Johnston (22), Chris Davis (20) and Eric Wilkinson (24) finishing on 20 points.

David recovered from double bogey sevens at the two par fives to finish with a par three on the final hole to secure top spot on count back over the last three holes. Chris was second. John Millward (19) finished on 19 points.

Shot of the day goes to Stephen Shaw who chipped in for an eagle three at the par five 12th. Only three birdie threes were recorded. Robin McCoosh holed from ten feet for a three on 17 while Martin Lilley and Ken Haslem had birdies at 15 and 16 respectively. Five players had birdie twos with three coming at the final hole.

Leaders: In Division 1, Darren Welsh and Rodney Osborne are joint leaders ahead of Ken Haslem, Andrew Parr, Stephen Stewart and Martin Lilley.

Michael Rooney is the clear leader of Division 2 with Stephen Wilkinson in second place.

In Division 3 Colin Todd and Eric Wilkinson lead George Heatherington, Chris Davis and David Galway. Competitors can discard their two lowest scores.