Lisburn’s fortunes change as they top the qualifiers in the Junior Cup

Lisburn Junior Cup members: Josh Robinson, Kyle Patton, Ricky Leathem and Aaron Marshall.
Lisburn Junior Cup members: Josh Robinson, Kyle Patton, Ricky Leathem and Aaron Marshall.

The Lisburn club’s fortunes in this year’s GUI competitions changed when their Junior Cup team topped the qualifiers in the stroke-play round at Edenmore.

Their four best cards totalled 321, one stroke ahead of the local club who led the field for most of the day.

Lisburn members at Royal County Down.

Lisburn members at Royal County Down.

A birdie three at the 16th helped Aaron Marshall shoot a 78. Gary Campbell started with an eight and did well to get round in 82.

Josh Robinson had a birdie three at the sixth. He reached the par five15th in two for a second birdie and a total of 83.

icky Leathem brought Lisburn into top spot with a birdie three on the final green for a 78.

Kyle Patton had the misfortune to run up an eight on the final hole for a total of 84.

Donaldson Trophy winner Peter Robinson.

Donaldson Trophy winner Peter Robinson.

Lisburn now play Silverwood in the first round of the knock-out stages at Edenmore.

Team captain Neil Patton was delighted with the performance of his team, especially the young players who coped well with the testing conditions.

Junior Cowdy

The Junior Cowdy team played their first match at Dungannon and came away with three points.

Barry McQuillan & Alan Gilmore, Chris Warwick & Chris Davis, Derek Gallagher & Derek McCallum won their matches while Sam Moore & Wesley Haslet were narrowly beaten.

Donaldson Trophy

Last Saturday Peter Robinson (9) won the Donaldson Trophy with 40 points.

He got off to a great start with 21 points on the front nine.

A three at the final hole gave him 19 points on the back nine.

Tom Beattie (15) had every opportunity of beating 40 but finished 6,4 for 39 points.

Four players finished on 38 points: Christian Kennedy (3), Derek Suffern (5), Alan Taylor (19) and Neil Larmour (12). Derek’s 20 points on the back nine secured third place.

Seniors 1st Brian Sparkes  41 pts,2nd Des Magill  40 pts, 3rd  Albert Gregg 39 pts.

9 Holes Lindsay Woods 21 pts.

Wednesday Stableford:1st Gary Brett 39pts, 2nd Neil Roulston 39pts, 3rd Matthew Hutchinson 38pts

M.U.S.A. competition:1st John Hutchinson 39pts, 2nd Brian Mulholland 39pts, 3rd Brian James 38pts

Juveniles Stableford Week 4: 1st Ben McCambley 42pts, 2nd Dylan Leathem 40pts, 3rd James Mulholland 39pts.

Juveniles Stableford Week 5:1st Jack Shellard 40, 2nd Adam Clarke 40, 3rd Conor Lyness 40

Over 20 Lisburn members helped with marshalling duties at the Dubai Duty Free Irish Open at Royal County Down.

The Lisburn team were in charge of the 17th hole and helped to organise crowd control from the tee to the green including two fairway crossings.