Lisburn lads show their brilliance in Bundoran

David McDowell and Jason Hempton won their match for Lisburn in the Rossmore Cup.
David McDowell and Jason Hempton won their match for Lisburn in the Rossmore Cup.

It was another good week for Lisburn’s teams with the Ulster Fourball stealing the limelight.

That’s thanks to what was a fantastic 3.5 – 1.5 away victory that made the long trip to Bundoran well worth it.

Team captain Alan Gilmore & Michael Rooney, Trevor Doak & Stephan Wilkinson and Barry Cathcart & Glenn Cruickshanks won their matches while the in-form Philip Stewart partnered by Barry McQuillan halved their match.


Lisburn got off to a great start in their Rossmore Cup match against Mannan Castle, winning the home leg 3 – 1.

Glenn and Gary McCambley lost on the 13th green where their opponents had a birdie two. Tommy Beattie and Gary Brett got off to a great start and were seven up at the turn.

Their match also finished on the 13th green. Jason Hempton and David McDowell were three ahead after nine and won on the 15th green. Ivor Walker holed from just off the 13th green and his partner Brian Houston sunk a putt of six feet for a birdie four at 14 to win their match six and four. The return match at Mannan Castle takes place in a next week.


However, the good run didn’t extend to Lisburn’s low men.

They finished well outside the top four qualifiers in the Senior Cup qualifying at Hilton, Templepatrick.

Ryan Symington had the best score for Lisburn. He went out in level par but dropped two strokes on the back nine for a 74. Christian Kennedy recovered from a triple bogey seven at the opening hole to record a 78 - the same total as team captain Norman McNellis.


Aaron Marshall was Lisburn’s only winner in a Holt Shield match at Balmoral where Lisburn lost 4 – 1.


Back at he ranch, a very successful scramble was held on Friday evening with some very low scores recorded.

Following a barbecue, Brian Graham won the draw for a hamper and the ‘Green Bananas’ won the quiz.

The club send thanks to Glenn Walsh and Jane McCambley for all their efforts.