It’s a hat-trick for Chris in a year to remember

Treble winner Chris Davis is all smiles.
Treble winner Chris Davis is all smiles.

Chris Davis (18) won his third trophy of the year with a runaway victory in the 55th Infantry Cup at Lisburn GC.

In August, Chris won the Fred Daly Trophy followed by the Craig Cup match play competition in September and he completed his hat-trick last weekend.

Jim McBratney, Jim Bell, Brian Pattterson and Bob Hope about to tee off at Lisburn.

Jim McBratney, Jim Bell, Brian Pattterson and Bob Hope about to tee off at Lisburn.

The highlight of his round over the second nine at Lisburn was a birdie three at the very difficult 11th where the hole was cut just over the water on the frontof the green.

Chris was also one of the leading players on the victorious Ulster Fourball team. His latest victory makes 2015 a year to remember!

Chris Budd (9) and Roy Gordon (21) finished two points in arrears. After starting the back nine with a bogey five followed by a double bogey six, Chris completed the next seven holes in three under par for 36. He was awarded second place on count back.

Roy’s birdie two at 13 for four points followed by a par three at the final hole for three more could not compensate for a double bogey six at 17.

Chris was awarded the Whitlock Cup for the best gross score. He finished one point ahead of Norman McNellis.

The summer like conditions led to good scoring in the competition with 37 out of the 133 entries scoring more than 18 points. Jason Smiley and Roy Welsh finished on 22 points.

Seven competitors finished on 21 pts: Alan Gilpin, Ben Kirkwood, Hubert Shellard, Roy Welsh, Rodney Osborne, Mark Jamieson and John McMillan.

Sunday Winter League

John Green, Peter Richardson and Glen McCambley topped the competition with 22 points. John was declared the winner on count back from Peter with Glen third.

Colin Jeffers was nearest the flag on the fourth with George Stephens winning the prize on the short sixth.

Juveniles Winter League

1st Henry Thomas (18) 26 pts

2nd Nicholas Lilly (20) 25 pts

3rd Conor Lyness (28) 21 pts