Irish Cup defeat for Lisburn in rainy Dublin

Action between Lisburn XI First and Waringstown US1816-410PM Pic by Paul Murphy
Action between Lisburn XI First and Waringstown US1816-410PM Pic by Paul Murphy

Lisburn travelled to Dublin through heavy rain last Saturday, to take on Pembroke in the Irish Cup.

Despite the conditions, the game was started less than an hour behind the arranged time of 12.30pm, with the match reduced only by three overs to a maximum of 47 overs each.

The visitors won the toss and decided to bat as conditions quickly improved but again they did not begin with any resolve.

Richard Simpson was debatably lbw to Lawson in the second over and unfortunately, last week’s top scorer Robert Rankin was bowled by Murphy in the third over for 5 as Lisburn slumped to 10 for 2.

David Simpson, coming in at number three, played a couple to good shots before he too was out for 8 in the 8th over with Lisburn 26 for 3 and struggling against the accurate Pembroke attack.

Lisburn’s new professional Cody Chetty and Steven Lazars began rebuilding the Lisburn innings and looked impressive in the process.

Chetty looks to have a lot of time to play the ball while Lazars always has a more than positive attitude to his batting.

The pair were looking very promising for the 8 overs they were together adding 39 before unexpectedly, Chetty played over the top of spinner Tucker and was clean bowled for a useful 31.

Lisburn had reached 65 for 4 in the 16th over with Lazars and Lisburn skipper Adam Berry at the crease. They were proceeding well, adding a further 21 before a needless run out saw Berry out for 9 in the 20th over with his team well below par on 86 for 5 with just over half the allotted overs remaining.

Simon Olphert joined Stevie Lazars who was beginning to strike with some intent, hitting the loose ball with a lot of power.

Two sixes off the spin of Tucker were impressive on the large ground at Pembroke but the small stand with Olphert ended when the wicket keeper was tamely caught and bowled for 9 having added 24 with Lazars.

Mark Berry did not last long, stumped off spinner Lawson but Graeme Browne was prepared to stay with Lazars while he launched an attack on the Pembroke bowling.

The pair added 43 in 9 overs with Lazars scoring the bulk of the runs with a few very good boundaries and two more large sixes.

Browne was out in the 37th over for a sensible 13 while Lazars, with batsmen running out flailed the Pembroke in a savage few overs before he too was caught for an excellent 79 scored off just 81 ball with four sixes and eight boundaries; an innings which had saved the Lisburn cause.

He was second last out with the score on 167 and no addition was made leaving Pembroke with the mundane task of scoring 168 to win on a drying pitch and outfield.

The home side began in very positive mode; openers Solway and Lawson striking anything loose with power and they quickly added 88 for the first wicket with Lisburn looking desperately for a break through.

This they got in just the 16th over when Richard McConkey, again Lisburn’s best bowler, had Solway clean bowled for a sharp 46 which included three sixes and two fours in his 55 ball innings.

The Pembroke openers had set up their team with that opening stand but Lisburn struck back twice in the 22nd and 24th overs. Again it was McConkey who took the wickets, clean bowling Hogan for 7 and the dogged Lawson for 30, also bowled.

Pembroke had reached 117 for 3 at this point but Lisburn were not able to penetrate any further until the game was almost lost. With the score on 156, Graeme Browne had wicket keeper Kelly caught by Cody Chetty for 12 but Tucker and Hopkins took the home side through to the required 168 without the loss of another wicket leaving Pembroke comfortable winners by 6 wickets and Lisburn wondering why they could only manage such a non-competitive total on a good wicket and outfield batting almost 10 overs less than their quota.

Again, best bowler for the visitors was Richard McConkey with 3 for 43 in his 10 overs. Graeme Browne was the only other wicket taker with 1 for 11. Davey Simpson had 0 for 23 off 5 overs, Callum Atkinson had 0 for 38 off three overs, Stevie Lazars 0 for 17 off three and Mark Berry 0 for 30 off his 8 over spell.


Lisburn innings;

R.Simpson lbw b Lawson 2

R.Rankin b Murphy 5

D.Simpson ct Lawson b Little 8

C.Chetty b F.Tucker 31

S.Lazars ct Hogan b Balbernie 79

A.Berry run out 9

S.Olphert ct and b Lawson 9

M.Berry st Kelly b Lawson 2

G.Browne ct Kelly b Hopkins 13

R.McConkey not out 0

C.Atkinson run out 0

Extras 9

Total 167 all out in 37.3 overs.

Fall of wkts 1-4 2-10 3-26 4-65 5-86 6-110 7-124 8-167 9-167 10-167

Pembroke bowling D.Murphy 8-0-38-1 P.Lawson 6-1-19-3 J.Little 4-0-27-1 F.Tucker 6-1-22-1 J.Balbernie 8.3-1-27-1 R.Hopkins 5-0-33-1

Pembroke innings;

T.Lawson b McConkey 30

D.Solway b McConkey 46

D.Hogan b McConkey 7

L.Tucker not out 31

R.Kelly ct Chetty b Browne 12

R.Hopkins not out 5

Extras 37

Total 168 for 4 in 30.5 overs

Fall of wkts 1-88 2-103 3-117 4-156

Lisburn bowling D.Simpson 5-0-23-0 S.Lazars 3-1-17-0 R.McConkey 10-1-43-3 M.Berry 8-0-30-0 C.Atkinson 2.5-0-38-0 G.Browne 2-0-11-1

Result: Pembroke won by 6 wickets.