HOCKEY: Uncapped pair set for Ireland’s World League panel

Eugene Magee. Pic by INPHO.
Eugene Magee. Pic by INPHO.

Banbridge-born Luke Madeley and Annadale’s Callum Robson have been included as two uncapped players in Ireland’s 24-strong training panel for the World League programme.

Stormont will stage the World League Round 2 fixtures next month, with no fewer than 10 members of last year’s Olympic Games panel also part of the group alongside a double-figure tally of players without top-tier senior experience.

Banbridge have five players on board, a number matched by Lisnagarvey.

Annadale can count two names in the training panel.

Ireland enter the eight-team event as the highest-ranked side in the world leaderboard at 10th, with a top-three finish the target to progress on to Round 3 and a spot at the World League event in South Africa to determine next year’s World Cup placings.

Ireland will meet Italy, Ukraine and Austria at Stormont across the group stages. France, Scotland, Wales and Poland form the other group.

“It will by no means be an easy tournament so we will need to be well prepared and not underestimate the task at hand,” said Eugene Magee. “Austria will be the toughest challenge in our group and all teams in Pool B will prove to be a challenge.

“We have had some good preparation games in the lead up to this tournament including games against France who are top ranked in Pool B.

“We have great depth in our squad and the young players coming up through have proven that they are more than capable of playing at senior international level.”

Fixtures will run from March 11-19, with the full squad as follows: David Harte (SV Kampong, Netherlands), Jamie Carr (Three Rock Rovers), Jonny Bell (Lisnagarvey), Jonny McKee (Banbridge), Ronan Gormley (Crefelder, Germany), Chris Cargo (Hampstead and Westminser, England), Matthew Nelson (Lisnagarvey), John Jermyn (Cork C of I), Eugene Magee (Banbridge), Peter Caruth (Annadale), Neal Glassey (Lisnagarvey), Shane O’Donoghue (Glenanne), Sean Murray (Lisnagarvey), Matthew Bell (Banbridge), Callum Robson (Annadale), Julian Dale (Cork C of I), Jamie Wright (Banbridge), Paul Gleghorne (Lisnagarvey), Conor Harte (Racing Club de Bruxelles, Belgium), Jeremy Duncan (UCD), Lee Cole (Monkstown), Luke Madeley (Three Rock Rovers), Drew Carlisle (Banbridge), Mark Ingram (Pembroke).