Heartache for Lisburn as two teams exit in the early stages

Fourball winners Ian McDonnell and Chris Davis.
Fourball winners Ian McDonnell and Chris Davis.

Two Lisburn teams crashed out of GUI competitions last weekend.

After winning the Ulster Fourball competition last year, Lisburn were looking forward to a good run in the new All-Ireland format. A disappointing 4–1 result at Mayo Bridge could not be overcome in the return match at Lisburn.

Andy Neill was Lisburn's only Ulster Cup winner at Banbridge.

Andy Neill was Lisburn's only Ulster Cup winner at Banbridge.

Alan Crowe and Ciaran Lyness gave a commanding performance with an eight and six victory to get the team off to a great start.

Michael Rooney and Joe Davey were up against two in-form opponents. They were six behind at the turn and did well to take the match to the 13th.

Alan Gilmore and Mark Jamieson were involved in a close struggle which ended at the 16th to give Lisburn their second success. Chris Davis and Ian McDonnell had a massive lead of seven holes at the turn but could only taste success on the 14th green.

The outcome depended on the final match, which involved last year’s star performer Barry McQuillan partnered by David Phelan. They had to win their match to give Lisburn any hope of success.

They trailed by two holes at the turn and could not reduce the arrears. They were called in at the 15th when Mayo Bridge had established an unassailable lead.

Meanwhile, the Lisburn Ulster Cup team fell at the first hurdle against Banbridge. After a 5–2 home victory, Lisburn could only win one match in the away fixture.

After nine holes, most of the team were behind in their matches. Top player Randal Kernaghan was three behind but won 10 and 11 only to lose on the 17th.

Brian Houston was two ahead at one stage but the match was level on the 17th tee. His opponent holed from 10 feet for a birdie three to go one ahead and at the final hole got down with a chip and putt to win by two holes.

Andy Neill provided Lisburn’s only point with victory on the 16th. Philip Shanaghan, John Poole and Colin Hill lost close encounters.

There was better news for the District Cup team. They managed to draw with Ballymena in their away leg.