George swaps the racket for a club but he still comes out on top in Lisburn

Ian Suffern and Ivor Walker with Donaldson Trophy winner George Stephens.
Ian Suffern and Ivor Walker with Donaldson Trophy winner George Stephens.

The very talented sportsman George Stephens won the Donaldson trophy at Lisburn Golf Club last Saturday.

The many times Irish international badminton champion played very steady golf to record two nines of 42 for a total of 84 which, off a handicap of 16, gave him a nett 68.

George did not panic after running up double bogeys at the third and 16th. He finished with a par three at the final hole to win by one shot from Michael Robinson (10).

Michael opened with a par followed by four bogeys to reach the turn in 40. He started the back nine with four more bogeys but followed with a birdie and four pars for a back nine of 39 giving him a nett 69.

Six competitors finished on 70: Gavin Alderdice (6), Iain Gillespie (12), Mark McNellis (5), Mark Stewart (11), Norman McNellis (3) and Samuel Gibson (11). Samuel had the best front nine after going out in 35. Two triple bogeys ruined his score for the back nine. Ian went out in 39 but came home in 43.

Mark McNellis and Mark Stewart had the best back nines (nett 31/2). Third place was decided on the last six holes in favour of Mark Stewart.

Ryan Symington won the prize for the best gross following a round of 72.

Meanwhile, Girvan Gault (23) and Philip Mulholland (22) topped the field in the Stableford competition with 41 points. Philip’s ding at the final hole proved expensive giving Girvan first prize on countback.

Other good scores were recorded by Seamus McGuckin with 39 points followed by George McMullen on 38 and Patrick Coyle on 37.

Wednesday Stableford

1st Christophe McKnight 41pts, 2nd John Hutchinson 41pts, 3rd Alastair Symington 39pts

Sam Rutherford

Last year Lisburn were beaten finalists in the Sam Rutherford but this year they are making a determined effort to go one better.

They were at home in the first leg to Banbridge and finished ahead. Gary Campbell & Brian Houston led the team with an advantage of seven holes while Stephen Stewart & Chris Budd finished two ahead. The matches involving Mark Jamison & Ben Kirkwood and Martin Lilley & Rodney Osborne finished all square.

Rossmore Cup 

Lisburn made an encouraging start to their match against Spa with a 2–2 draw in the away leg. John Kelso and Ryan Chambers lost the top match by three and two.

Brian Houston and Randal Kernaghan won their match two up. Colin Jeffers and Robert Campbell won on the last green for a one hole victory. Gavin Hawkins and Gary Brett lost the final match five and four.

Junior Cowdy Cup

Lisburn required 2.5 points in the home tie to progress against Lurgan.

They got off to a great start with Ciaran Lyness & Francie Gorman winning by three and two. Sam Moore & Michael Rooney won the first four holes and increased their lead to win on the 14th green. Mark Jamieson & Barry McQuillan were three ahead after 15 and at the worst could secure the necessary half when Lurgan conceded. In the final match, Alan Gilmore & Chris Warwick were called in after 15 holes at which stage they were one ahead.

Ronan Rafferty Cup

Lisburn juveniles got off to a great start in the Ronan Rafferty Cup with a 22 – 18 victory over Lurgan.

In the home leg Spencer Pinion and Adam Clarke got four points each. Conor Lyness and Henry Thomas won their matches contributing three points each.

Josh Clarke lost on the last green but managed to win one point. In the away leg at Lurgan, Conor Lyness won his match five and four for four points while Henry Thomas won on the final green for three points to swing the result in favour of Lisburn.

Cross-country fun night

The good weather attracted nearly 60 competitors to a very successful cross-country competition last Friday evening. Chris Budd, Joe Gatt. Stephen Stewart. Spencer Pinion and Connor Heasley were declared the winners. The golf was followed by a barbecue and a quiz. A picture round of different areas of the course was the main talking point. Very few recognised a photograph of the practice ground! The quiz was won by David Armstrong, Barry McQuillan, Stewart Campbell, Steven Orr and Ricky Carr.