Five star show from Garvey as they earn spot in second round

Lisnagarvey gained themselves a place in the second round of the Irish Senior Cup with a straight forward 5-0 win over Civil Service at Comber Road last Saturday.

The score-line far from reflects the one sided nature of this match as Garvey could well have doubled their tally but for countless missed chances created throughout the 70 minutes.

Action from the game between Lisnagarvey and NICS, at Comber Road. US1544-518cd  Picture: Cliff Donaldson

Action from the game between Lisnagarvey and NICS, at Comber Road. US1544-518cd Picture: Cliff Donaldson

Welcoming back Richard Arneill to the squad and captain Jonny Bell back to fitness, Garvey began quickly with a number of raids down the right in the opening minutes.

Daniel Buser was prominent with a shot and a cross for Andy Forrest but it took until the 9th minute for the opening goal of the game.

It came after Civil Service goalkeeper and man of the match, Sam Brown made a good block but he could do nothing when Neil Glassey took the ball to the bye-line before Andy Forrest finished off the move.

A minute later Garvey were two goals in front; this time it was Glassey himself who provided the strike, he worked his way into the circle and still on the run, blasted a reverse shot past Brown.

The pressure on the Civil Service goal was incessant with Brown constantly in action but he was at fault in the 13th minute when Paul Gleghorne beat him with a penalty corner flick which went through his legs.

Garvey, now three ahead after a quarter of the game looked like knocking up a cricket score but a poorly executed penalty corner in the 25th minute and near misses by Sean Murray and Andy Williamson failed to add to the tally.

Civil Service had their only chance of the match in the 35th minute when a long ball found Garvey sleeping but Peter Johnson could only guide it over the bar with Garvey keeper John Tormey unable to contribute.

This effort was the last of the first half which left the home side still leading by 3 goals to nil.

The Garvey pressure continued unabated as the second half got under way; chances fell to Glassey and Buser one of which was deflected onto the cross bar while Brown again was always in the game with a series of good saves.

A 4th penalty corner to Garvey came in the 45th minute but Brown again saved well from Gleghorne as Garvey began to become frustrated at their lack of finishing power.

Another Timmy Cockram set piece was deflected for a long corner in the 48th minute and a 6th was scrambled off the goal-line just a minute later.

However, at last, in the 58th minute, Cockram set up Garvey’s fourth goal with a neat switch at their 7th penalty corner which was finished by Andy Williamson from 7 metres.

Andy Williamson had the chance to score two more goals in the last few minutes of the game but hit both the bar and the post while a final 8th set piece was saved by Brown from James Lorimer leaving Garvey clear and easy winners by 5 goals to nil and a place in the next round secured.

This Saturday, Garvey return to the main business of the season with a trip to Cork to play the I.H.L. leaders Cork Church of Ireland at Gulladuff.

Cork C of I have a perfect record so far this season in the I.H.L. with wins over Cookstown, Glennane and Annadale while Garvey have just the one blip with their defeat to Monkstown so a win in Cork would put them well back in contention while favourites Monkstown have tough match against Three Rock Rovers and Banbridge are at home to Pembroke.

The competition is intense between the top four sides with every game and points being crucial in the hunt for the inaugural I.H.L. title.

Garvey will be without Richard Arneill who is unavailable while Johnny Quigley is still not fit enough to make the long trip to Cork.

The match should be a very tight affair with again, penalty corner experts, Timmy Cockram and John Germaine having a large say in the result.

The Garvey team is as follows:

John Tormey (gk), James Lorimer, Jonny Bell (capt), Steven Arbuthnot, Paul Gleghorne, Sean Murray, Peter MacDonnell, Ryan Getty, Andy Williamson, Andy Forrest, Timmy Cockram, Daniel Buser, Paul Ritchie, Daniel Nelson, Neal Glassey and Mark McNellis.