Business as usual at Lisburn GC

Gary Campbell. Andy Parr, Andy Campbell and Sam McAllister about to tee off at Lisburn.
Gary Campbell. Andy Parr, Andy Campbell and Sam McAllister about to tee off at Lisburn.

After missing their Saturday golf last week due to a snow covered course, the weather relented and it was business as usual for Lisburn golfers last weekend.

The sun made a welcome appearance which raised the temperature slightly although a few competitors complained of cold hands.

With 25 points David Galway (25) had the best score of the day despite starting and finishing with double bogeys. He was a clear winner of Division 3.

John Dale (25) finished two points in arrears. There was a triple tie for third place between David Wightman (24), Fraser Shannon and Eric Wilkinson. David was awarded third place on count-back.

Rodney Osborne (12) went round the front nine in 38 for 22 points to win Division 1. He finished one point ahead of five players: Alan Gilpin, Stephen Stewart, Michael McCaughan, Martin Lilley and Andrew Parr. Alan’s birdie at the sixth followed by two pars gave him second place on count back from Stephen.

It was another close finish in Division 2 with Peter Richardson (19), Michael Rooney (18) and Trevor Doak (17) scoring 23 points. Peter dropped two strokes in the first three holes but recovered to play the next four in level par. Despite finishing with two bogeys he had done sufficient to win on the last six holes.

Michael recovered from a double bogey at the short fourth to complete the remaining holes in one over par and claim second place. Trevor was level par for the first six holes. He recovered from a double bogey seven at the eighth with a par on the ninth but was relegated to third place.

Well done to Stephen Stewart had two of only five threes to be recorded.

Wednesday Competition - 1st. Albert Gregg 25 pts., 2nd David Wilson 24 pts., 3rd. Ian Shane 23 pts.

Sunday competition - 1st. Cecil Crawford 24 pts., 2nd. Tommy Beattie, 3rd. Stanley Hutchison 22 pts.

Seniors - 1st Brian Sparkes 24pts., 2nd George Heatherington 23 pts., 3rd Leslie Cross 22 pts.

4th David Wightman 22 pts.