Berry named captain at AGM

Adam Berry has been named Lisburn Cricket Club captain. US2411-524cd
Adam Berry has been named Lisburn Cricket Club captain. US2411-524cd

The 179th Annual General Meeting of Lisburn Cricket Club took place in the Cecil Walker Pavilion last week.

The meeting was presided over by Vice-Chairman Gary Blair and was well attended.

Secretary, Michael Foster related an average season for the senior teams but with all retaining their own league status.

He did, however, record a very successful season for the youth teams especially the Under 13 eleven which reached two cup finals.

He stressed the importance of the younger members to be recognised as they provide the future of the club.

There followed the election of office bearers which saw a radical change in personnel. Michael Foster was elected the new Chairman while Gary Blair became the club’s fresh secretary.

Andrew Brown was restored as Treasurer and Cecil Kirkwood was installed as Patron.

The incoming Chairman wished all concerned a successful season particularly new Ist XI captain Adam Berry, who took over from David Simpson after four years in the position.

Adam is looking forward to his new role especially with the arrival of new professional Heinrich Klaasen in April.

The following office bearers were elected;

Patron- Cecil Kirkwood, President-Ian Ross. Chairman- Michael Foster, Vice chairman-vacant, Honorary Secretary-Gary Blair, Honorary Treasurer-Andrew Brown, Honorary membership secretary-Robin Graham.

Captain Ist XI-Adam Berry, Vice- captain Ist XI –Richard Simpson, Captain 2nd XI- Richard Finlay, Vice-captain 2nd XI –Richard Booth. Captain 3rd XI-Alan Darragh, Captain 4th XI-John Glass.

Management Committee, William Blair, Neil Doak, Richard Simpson, Michael Bowden, Richard McConkey, Maurice McDevitte, David Simpson, John Glass, Alan Darragh.

Selection Committee- Adam Berry, Richard Simpson, Richard Finlay, Richard Booth, Alan Darragh, John Glass, Neil Doak, Robin Graham.