Ballinderry double up at Zone finals as Raymond wins the singles crown

Finalists at Annahilt Parish.
Finalists at Annahilt Parish.

There was a double success for Ballinderry at the finals of the Lisburn Zone Championships in Priesthill Methodist hall last week.

Raymond Stubbs won the singles crown with victory over Michael Beattie, Hillsborough Social in the final.

The mixed triples combination of Evelyn Marsden, Julie Marsden and Paul Reid were successful against Amanda Carser, Nathan and Nick Haire, Seymour Hill and Hillsborough Social.

Amanda Carser and Nathan Haire did get their victory in the mixed pairs over Madeline McQuillan and Richard Maitland, Annahilt Parish.

In the mixed fours, Genny Little, Muriel McCandless, Chris Connolly and John Mackey, from three clubs were winners against Ruth Neely, John and Agnes Liggett and George McLernon, Eglantine.

Final Roy Kennedy Fuels League Positions

SECTION A: Ballinderry 95.5, Hillsborough Social 85.5, Soldierstown 61.5, Priesthill 60, Killaney 51.5, St Paul’s 48.5, Eglantine 38, Derriaghy 35, Hilden 29.5.

SECTION B: Annahilt Parish 67.5, St Mark’s 66.5, Rock 63, Pond Park 62, Seymour Hill 61.5, Sloan Street 53, St Joseph’s 48, St Colman’s Lambeg 43.5, Aghagallon 39.

SECTION C: Broomhedge 78, Lambeg Parish 67.5, Suffolk 64, St Clare’s 64, St Colman’s Dunmurry 61.5, British Legion 50, Lisburn Masonic 48.5, St Columba’s 48, Derryvolgie 22.5.

McCann/Graham win at Annahilt

Noel Graham, Loughaghery with Derek McCann, Seaforde leading won the Open Pairs competition at Annahilt Parish on Saturday night.

They beat Lisa Douglas/William Morrison in the final after a great finals night in front of a good crowd.

SECTION WINNERS: Derek McCann Seaforde/ Noel Graham Loughaghery; Riun Hill/Mark Shaw Dunloy; Linda and Sam Moore Ballynure Methodist; Innis Hamilton/Jack Carson St Joseph’s Donaghmore; Laurence Carlisle/Stephen Crawford; Carryduff; Lisa Douglas/William Morrison Ahoghill; Lynn and John Martin Magherally; Tommy Lithco/ Christopher Wilson Michelin, Ballymena.

QUARTER-FINALS: McCann/Graham beat Carlisle/Crawford, Hill/Shaw beat Linda and Sam Moore, Douglas/Morrison beat Lithco/Wilson, Lynn and John Martin beat Hamilton/Carson.

SEMI-FINALS: McCann/Graham beat Hill/Shaw, Douglas/Morrison beat Lynn and John Martin.

FINAL: McCann/Graham beat Douglas/Morrison.

Annahilt Parish Bowling Club would like to thank the following sponsors:

Bobby Morrison, funeral directors; Douglas, funeral directors; Lagan Oils; Brian Lewis, Harmony Electrical Systems,; Jim Finlay, bakery suppliers; Ulster Farmers’ Union (Lisburn) and Jeffers’ Bakery.

Dates for annual


The annual meeting of Lisburn Zone will be held in Derriaghy Indoor Bowling Club hall on Thursday, April 9 at 7.30pm.

The Roy Kennedy Fuels Indoor Bowling League will hold their annual meeting in Eglantine Parish hall on Tuesday, April 14 at 7.30pm.

A good attendance at both meetings is requested.

Hilden lose a long-serving member

Hilden Bowling Club have lost a long-serving member following the death of Jim Wedlock.

Jim also bowled at Belfast Indoor Stadium, but his greatest love in the sport was with his outdoor club at Hilden, where he had been a member for many years.

Due to illness he played little bowls last year and was missed at Hilden, where he was a regular on a Saturday.

He had successes while playing lead to Jackie Martin in pairs’ competitions.

Sincere condolences are extended from all bowlers to Jim’s family at this sad time.

There was a very large congregation at the Service of Thanksgiving for Jim in Christ Church on Monday.

Outdoor season


The outdoor bowling season will soon be under way with opening ceremonies and flag unfurling already planned.

Hilden will have their opening night on Wednesday, April 8, starting at 6.15pm sharp. All members are asked to take note of the date.

All new members will be made most welcome, especially in the ladies section of the club, where a very special welcome awaits newcomers.

At Lisnagarvey the planned opening day is Saturday, April 11 at 2pm, which will be a light-hearted affair as members renew acquaintances. Again make a note and plan to attend.

Friday, April 17 is also an important date for Garvey with the unfurling of the NIBA flag as Ken Armstrong, a Lisnagarvey member, is Association president this year.

Make a note of the date and plan to give Ken your support.

More outdoor news in later editions of the bowls column.

Open Singles at Moira

Entries are needed for the St John’s Moira Open Singles Tournament for the R. J. Allam Perpetual Challenge Cup.

The event will be held in the Parish Centre, Moira from Tuesday, April 7 till Friday, April 10 with the finals being played on Saturday, April 11.

The closing date for receipt of entries is Monday, April 6 and the fee is £4.

Entries to Mrs S. E. White, 39 Earlsfort, Moira BT67 0LY. Telephone 028 92612231.