Exciting day of racing at Nutts Corner


Nutts Corner race circuit was once again the host to the latest round of the Ulster Karting

Championship and the NI Superkart Championship, as the full programme of racing unfolded, in what was an exciting and action packed day of karting action at the circuit.

The Senior Max class as always provided some close and hotly contested races, with multiple winners throughout the day.

Carrickfergus’ Robert Devenney had yet another dominant day in the World Formula class taking home three victories from the four races.

From race two on Devenney got into his stride and took victory in all three of the remaining races. Nigel Stewart and Stephen Stewart from Crumlin rounded off the podium in race two, with Hamilton taking second in the Pre-Final ahead of Moira’s Paul Prentice in third.

The Honda Cadet class provided quite a few more victors than the IAME Cadet class, with Peadar O’Boyle, Lisburn’s Max Allen and Shane O’Boyle all claiming wins on the day. Peadar O’Boyle took the win in race one with Hillsborough’s Chris Campbell and Max Allen completing the podium.

The second race seen Max Allen take to the top step, with Peadar O’Boyle and Shane O’Boyle finishing in second and third. Shane O’Boyle claimed victory in both the Pre-Final and Final, with Peadar O’Boyle claiming second in both races, with Chris Campbell and Max Allen claiming a third place finish a piece.

It was another competitive day as always in the 250 Superkart class, with three different winners. Claiming the first win of the day was Alan Witherow, with Lisburn’s Liam Fox finishing in second, and Richard Dewart from Waringstown rounding out the podium in third.

The second race seen Fox make the step up to claim the win, with Dewart once again finishing just one position behind him in second, and Arie Verhoog in third. Dewart continued his progress up the standings in the third race, claiming victory ahead of Fox in third Witherow in third. The final race of the day seen WItherow claim his second victory of the day, with Dewart once again claiming second, and Fox rounding off the podium in third.