Members hear work at cricket club shows results at recent AGM

Lisburn Cricket Club's Captain David Simpson. US1413-410PM Pic by Paul Murphy
Lisburn Cricket Club's Captain David Simpson. US1413-410PM Pic by Paul Murphy

The 178th A.G.M. of Lisburn Cricket Club took place in the Cecil Walker Pavilion on Wednesday December 17.

The meeting was poorly attended but despite a possible gloomy scenario the acting Chairman Dean Simpson painted a better picture of the club and its future.

He outlined the club’s financial position and was optimistic about the way forward.

He also was keen to inform the members that the costly work done on the playing square was now beginning to show results as regards the quality of the wickets while off the pitch the club organised some very good events which helped keep the social side ticking over especially in the off season.

On the playing side the Ist XI had a very similar season to last with some good results and some average performances eventually leaving the team again in mid table.

The undoubted star of the season was Zimbabwean Craig Ervine who scored 981 runs at an average of 57.71 and 22 wickets at 22 runs each. This proved to be probably his last season with the club as he was contracted to Zimbabwe during the late summer playing against Bangladesh.

Lisburn C.C. can only feel contentment with this latest move as Craig has been a model of consistency throughout his three years with them, all carried out with a calm and gentlemanly approach to the game of cricket and Lisburn Cricket Club.

Craig was supported by professional Darryl Brown who scored 450 runs at 47 and took 16 wickets at 27.

Skipper David Simpson chipped in as top wicket taker with 25 at 22 each plus 341 runs. James Magowan, in his first season recorded 252 runs and 21 wickets while Robert Rankin also topped 400 runs for the season.

Top performance of the season was without doubt Craig Ervine’s 200 not out at Donamana. The fantastic display of striking which included 22 sixes and 14 boundaries. Unfortunately, Lisburn still lost the incredible match off the last ball.

With the prolific Ervine missing next season, Lisburn’s batsmen will have to produce the runs in his absence to maintain their position in the Premier League.

Lisburn Seconds captained by Graham Elliott had a good start to their season but tailed off towards September. They finished mid table but had a great Junior Cup run which only ended with defeat by Academy by 49 runs at Muckamore. The final saw Johnny Bell, free of hockey duties for a few weeks, scoring a fine 100 but his efforts unfortunately were in vain.

The Thirds also had an average season also finishing mid table with Peter Ferguson being leading run maker and Alan Darragh top of the wicket taking while the Fourths had problems fielding a regular team and were relegated after a long number of years in their division.

The three Boys teams were all very active with the under 13s, under the guidance of John Glass, proving to be the Lisburn team of the season. The team reached two finals only to lose both to Waringstown and Derriaghy respectively but John’s hard work should reap rewards as a number of his team had shown real talent which should enhance the club in general over the next few seasons.

Office bearers for the coming season were then elected and are as follows;

Patron - vacant

President - Ian Ross

Senior vice-president- Richard Simpson

Chairman- Trevor McKeown

Vice chairman- Gary Blair

Honorary Secretary-Michael Foster

Assistant Treasurer-Ian Ross

Membership Secretary-Robin Graham

Captain Ist XI-David Simpson

Vice captain Ist XI-Adam Berry

Captain Seconds XI- Graham Elliott

Vice captain 2nd XI-Graeme Browne

Captain 3rd XI – Alan Darragh

Captain 4th X1- John Glass

Management Committee -Ex Officio members- Dean Simpson, John Glass, Graeme Browne, Cecil Kirkwood, Billy Jameison, Michael Bowden, Richard McConkey, William Blair, Richard Simpson (jun),Maurice McKevitt.

Selection Committee- Team captains plus Graeme Browne, Robin Graham, Adam Berry, Darryl Brown.

At the conclusion of the meeting, Neal Doak was elevated to the position of Life Member for his outstanding contribution to Lisburn Cricket Club and Ireland.