It appears to be a two team race in Section A of the bowling league

Lisnagarvey's Ken Armstrong has been elected as president of the Northern Ireland Bowling Association.
Lisnagarvey's Ken Armstrong has been elected as president of the Northern Ireland Bowling Association.

Section A of the Roy Kennedy Fuels Indoor Bowling League appears to be a two team race, between Ballinderry and Hillsborough Social.

The champions have a 7.5 points advantage and the pair do not meet again this season, while Priesthill and Soldierstown may catch up, but do they have the consistency of the top two?

Killaney remain safe in mid-table, but five points separate the bottom four with one team to be relegated.

Derriaghy are half-a-point ahead of St Paul’s with Eglantine four points further back and Hilden bottom but only half-a-point behind. All to play for here!

Section B is the usual mix-up with only 23.5 points between the lot and the bottom four separated by 4.5 points.

Annahilt Parish lead from Seymour Hill, who are pushing for the top for the first time, but it takes a brave man to predict who goes up and who goes down. I will play safe.

St Clare’s and Broomhedge are tops in the battle for promotion from Section C, but Lambeg Parish are thereabouts with one match fewer recorded.

Lisburn Masonic and Derryvolgie languish at the bottom, but St Columba’s have certainly improved this season.

How they stand:

SECTION A: (all played 9): Ballinderry 53.5, Hillsborough Social 46, Priesthill 41, Soldierstown 41, Killaney 29.5, Derriaghy 20, St Paul’s 19.5, Eglantine 15.5, Hilden 15.

SECTION B: (all played 9): Annahilt Parish 45, Seymour Hill 41, Sloan Street 35, St Mark’s 32.5, Pond Park 30, Rock 26, St Joseph’s 25.5, St Colman’s Lambeg 23.5, Aghagallon 21.5.

SECTION C: St Clare’s 9-40, Broomhedge 9-39, Lambeg Parish 8-34.5, St Colman’s Dunmurry 9-34, British Legion 9-31, Suffolk 8.30, St Columba’s 9-26.5, Lisburn Masonic 9-22.5, Derryvolgie 8-15.5.

Zone match at Eglantine

Lisburn will play Mid Tyrone in the Men’s Inter Zone Plate at Eglantine Parish hall tomorrow (Saturday).

Those attending the game please note it starts at 1pm, an hour earlier than originally scheduled.


Section A

Soldierstown 41 (7) Hilden 22 (0)

G. Lavery, C. McCord, J. Dunlop, D. McLorn 10, H. Murray, A. Carlisle, D. Sloan, J. McMullan 7; A. Bell, D. Johnston, J. Johnston, Jim Johnston 13, D. Miskelly, R. Montgomery, J. Montgomery, H. McMullan 6; J. Lavery, G. Murray, I. McKay, M. McDonald 8, A. Harron, L. Finlay, D. Harron, C. McConnell 5; J. McLorn, C. Haughey, H. Dillon, J. Mackey 10, J. Pink, J. Harron, J. Freeborn, C. Montgomery 4.

Section B

Sloan Street 31 (6) St Joseph’s 29 (1)

A. Agnew, M. Adamson, J. Short, K. Armstrong 6, B. O’Rourke, B. McGurnaghan, D. McFall, S. Mulholland 5; H. McGrath, J. Bell, T. Beck, J. Beck 5, A. Catney, E. Mallon, T. Mallon, C. Mulholland 13; D. Miskimmon, D. Kirkwood, R. McGregor, T. Irwin 6, S. Magennis, M. Furey, A. O’Rourke, D. Magennis 5; J. McIntyre, C. Aicken, A. McNevison, S. Irwin 14, T. Roe, S. Duffy, B. Magennis, H. Lundy 6.

Seymour Hill 43 (6) St Colman’s Lambeg 28 (1)

T. Neill, K. Murdock, J. Walker, A. Murdock 8, E. Rodgers, D. McCallion, S. Templeton, F. Agnew 10; B. Doran, C. Connery, A. Carser, D. Carser 8, P. Blacker, M. Quigley, P. Robinson, L. Long 6; E. Eakin, K. McCalmont, G. Scales, P. Cairnduff 12, J. Donnelly, J. McCallion, John Burns, James Burns 6; A. Dickson, R. Scales, J. Cairnduff, R. Carser 15, R. O’Carroll, P. Bradley, P. Rea, G. McWilliams 6.

Aghagallon 22 (2)

Annahilt Parish 33 (5)

K. Russell, G. Mellan, U. Corey, M. Corey 8, E. Mawhinney, I. Harrison, D. Kane, R. Jess 3; A. Clenaghan, J. Connolly, S. Russell, C. Connolly 8, B. Harrison, N. Mawhinney, A. Lyons, W. Cairns 4; H. Fitzpatrick, B. Walsh, S. Hannon, G. Tallon 4, D. Callaghan, N. Elwood, J. Magee, W. Hunter 15; A. Tallon, B. Brown, G. Little, E. Hamill 2, B. Payne, P. Halliday, L. Wilson, T. Hill 11.

New League dinner date

There is a change of date for the the League dinner and prizegiving.

It will now take place on Friday, March 20 in Lisburn Masonic hall, starting at 7.30pm.

Please also note that until further notice Seymour Hill Bowling Club will play their home matches in Seymour Hill Methodist Church hall.

It is on the same road as the former venue.

Entries for Eglantine Open Pairs

The Eglantine Bowling Club Open Pairs Tournament for the Kelsie Memorial Cup will be played on four mats from Monday to Friday, February 9 till February 13.

The finals night will be Saturday, February 14.

The entry fee is £5 per pair and this must accompany entry form. The closing date for entries is Monday, February 2.

Entries to Ruth Neely, 10 Dagger Road, Lisburn BT28 2TJ. Telephone 92622086 or mobile 07889280090.

Directions for visiting bowlers: at the Sprucefield end of the A1 take the signpost for Lisburn Golf and Rugby Clubs, follow for approximately one mile. The road to the church hall is signposted on the left. Post code BT27 5RQ.

League Fixtures

Fixtures in the Roy Kennedy Fuels Indoor Bowling League for the week commencing Monday, January 12.

SECTION A: Tuesday, Derriaghy v Hillsborough Social, St Paul’s v Eglantine, Killaney v Hilden; Wednesday, Soldierstown v Priesthill.

SECTION B: Tuesday, Pond Park v Seymour Hill; Wednesday, Annahilt Parish v St Colman’s Lambeg; Thursday, Aghagallon v Rock, Sloan Street v St Mark’s.

SECTION C: Tuesday, St Columba’s v Royal British Legion; Wednesday, Lisburn Masonic v St Clare’s; Thursday, Derryvolgie v Broomhedge; Friday, St Colman’s Dunmurry v Suffolk.

Ken is first NIBA

president from Garvey

Ken Armstrong, from the Lisnagarvey club, who has been elected as president of the Northern Ireland Bowling Association.

Ken is the first Garvey bowler to accept this position. The club failed to take the president’s honour when last offered around 20 years ago.

He is chief staff coach, tutor and secretary of the Irish Bowling Coaching Association and was also president of the Association of Irish Indoor Bowls last year.