Peter Cairns is the new Captain of Lisburn Golf Club for 2014

Peter Cairns was elected Captain of Lisburn Golf Club at the 109th Annual General Meeting which was held in the clubhouse on Monday evening. Peter has been a member since the club moved to Blaris in 1973. He was convenor of the competitions committee in 2012.

Tuesday, 28th January 2014, 12:30 pm
The new office bearers of Lisburn Golf Club: Noel Robinson (Hon Secretary), Dr Sam Moore (Past Captain), John Boyd (Vice Captain), Peter Cairns (Captain), Andrew Crawford (President) and Ernie Taylor (Hon. Treasurer).

The outgoing president Ronnie Brooks proposed Andrew Crawford as his successor.

The outgoing captain Dr Sam Moore thanked the members and council for their support during his year in office. He wished the Honorary Secretary Maurice Henderson and his wife a speedy recovery after their recent car accident.

The various council reports were passed. The Honorary Treasurer Ernie Taylor stating that 2013 had been a good year. The club was debt free indicating a sound financial position.

Other appointments: Vice Captain John Boyd, Hon. Secretary Noel Robinson, Hon Treasurer Ernie Taylor, Two new council members, David Megrath and Chris Davis were elected to the council while Stanley Lamont was re-elected.

Ivor McCandless and Walter Smyth were elected Honorary members for their services to golf and Lisburn Golf Club in particular.

The members approved the capital expenditure required to construct a new greenkeeper’s facility and other compliance work.

Unfortunately the rain put an end to the Winter League competition on Saturday. The early starters had completed their round but the course had to be closed at mid-day.