Lisburn Ladies celebrate the season with their annual All-Prize Night

Over 70 ladies were present at Lisburn Golf Club to celebrate with the many winners at the annual All-Prize Night on Tuesday evening 6th October.

Monday, 26th October 2015, 1:30 pm
Lady Captain, Margaret Boyd pictured with the winners at the recent Prize Night in Lisburn Golf Club.

In her welcome address, the Lady Captain thanked the generosity of the many members who had sponsored the various competitions throughout the summer. She also thanked the Committee for all their hard work and the restaurant staff for the delicious buffet.

The first prizes to be announced were the September competition winners.

On September 15th, the Monthly Stroke was sponsored by Mavis Falloon and Margaret Shaw. Section A was won by Ida Ross (73) with Kathryn Murphy taking second place and in Section B Marie Hegarty took first place over Norma Cairns with a 77 (BB9). The gross prize went to Valerie Rooney (91) and the nine hole competition was won by Vivienne Walsh.

Valerie Rooney and Vivienne Walsh who won the Irish Mail Foursomes Trophy and will represent Lisburn GC in the final stages of the competition next year

On Sunday, 20th September, the Autumn Open was won by Judi Henry 33pts.

The Weekly Stableford on 22nd September was sponsored by Audrey Gifford and Phyllis Magill. Section A was won by Julie Robinson (36 pts) and Daphne Houston finished second (31pts). Section B was won by Norma Cairns (34pts) with Margaret McDonagh (32pts) taking second place. The gross prize went to Judi Henry and the nine hole competition was won by Lynda Eagleson.

On 29th September, Daphne Bailey and Ena Roulston sponsored the Weekly Stableford in which Section A was won by Brenda Maxwell (37 pts) with Julie Robinson (35pts) in second place. Colleen Logan won Section B with 31pts and Joan Gough was second with 30 pts. The Gross was won by Janice Wallace and the 9-hole by Sandra Leckey.

The summer season culminated with a fun nine-hole Team Scramble. The winners were Sandra Leckey, Janet Walker & Patricia Clarke (26). Louise MacDonnell, Ruth Walker & Sharon Stewart took second place over Sylvia McKelvey, Margaret Weir & Norma Cairns with 28 (better last holes).

Lady Captain, Margaret Boyd presenting the Brodie Salver to Norma Cairns who picked up a total of four trophies at the recent prize evening.

The Summer Ringer competition was won by Hazel Brown (0-17), Noeni Bryars (18-24) and Norma Cairns (25-36). Ruth Walker and Judi Henry took the Par Tree and Birdie Tree Prizes, respectively.

The evening concluded with the Presentation of Cups and Trophies for 2015.


Ridges Cup - Norma Cairns

Joan Gough receiving the Guide Dog Cup from the Lady Captain. Joan was also runner-up in the McMillen Cup.

Kee Trophy - Hazel Brown

Guide Dog Cup - Joan Gough

Bridge Bowl - Julia Moore

Brodie Salver - Norma Cairns. Runner up was Maureen Bryson.

Boyd Plate - Colleen Logan

Janice Orr Trophy - Julia Moore

PGA Tankard - Jilanna Currie. Jilana qualified for the Final which was played on a very wet September afternoon in Ballycastle and finished in 5th place with 32pts.

Match Play Trophies

McClelland Cup - Norma Cairns. Runner-up - Amy Jeffers.

McMillen Cup - Janice Wallace. Runner-up - Joan Gough

Martha Hayes Cup - Kathleen McDonald. Runner-up - Gil Colvin.

Irish Mail Foursomes - Valerie Rooney & Vivienne Walsh. Runners-up - Maureen Bryson

& Anne Gowan. Valerie and Vivienne now qualify for the finals to be played next year.

Club Championship - Maureen Bryson. Runner-up - Margaret Rosbotham.

Henry Trophy (eclectic) - Norma Cairns.

Heathrene (merit points for season)- Christine McCullough.

ILGU Prizes

Silver Spoon - Janet Walker.

Silver Medal - Kathryn Murphy.

Bronze Medal - Bernie McDonald.