Heavy rain does not stop winter league at Lisburn

Heavy rain in mid-week followed by overnight rain on Friday did not close the Lisburn course for Saturday’s third round of the Winter league.

Saturday, 26th October 2013, 4:15 pm
Group 5 joint leaders Neil Thompson and Norman Lambe.
Group 5 joint leaders Neil Thompson and Norman Lambe.

The course recovered well and was in excellent condition with just a few damp patches. The greens were very smooth for the rime of year. After the damp and cold start, competitors played in shirt sleeves in the early afternoon. The leaders in the various groups are beginning to appear.

Group 1 has joint leaders. Ricky Neill & Terry Smith and Brian Sparkes & Graham Kerr both remain unbeaten with 12 points.

John Price & Tom Doak are the only unbeaten pair in Group 2.

Despite halving one match Declan Marsden & Mark Jamieson top Group 3 with 10 points.

Two pairs remain unbeaten in Group 4 with Neil Thompson & Norman Lambe along with Jim Cunningham and Jim McBratney both on 12 points.

Tommy Beattie and Andy Gibb top Group 5 with 12 points.

Group 6 leaders are Ray Rankin & Norman Allen on 12 points.

There are joint leaders in Group 7 with Eddie Rowan & Uel Graham along with Paul Watters & Wesley Haslett on 10 points.

Two pairs remain unbeaten in Group 8. Chris Scott & Norman McNellis and Roy Stewart & Terry Gilmore top the group with 12 points each.

Competitors in the Sunday Winter league had to contend with some heavy showers. John Kelso was first with 21 points. He tied with Gary Hanna but had a better finish over the last six holes. Michael McNeice was third.

Sepp Zwahlan was nearest the flag on the fourth with Philip Stewart nearest the flag on the sixth.

The Wednesday sweep was won by Albert Gregg with 19 points.

Ladies prize night

The ladies of Lisburn Golf Club held their end of season prize giving on Tuesday 1 October. After a season of great weather, great golf and great Team performances, this was an opportunity to present individual Cups and Awards.

Of particular note are the performances of Maureen Bryson – Maureen won the McCelland Cup, the McMillan Cup and the Hearthrene Order of Merit, Janice Wallace who defended the Club Championship, won the Irish Mail Foursomes partnered by her sister Sharon Stewart and the ILGU Silver medal and Kathleen MacDonald who won the Brodie Salver and the Martha Hayes Cup.