Ballymacash YM are league champions

editorial image

Premier Division

Ballymacash YM won the Premier Division of the South Antrim League when they beat Braniel YM 3-1 in a play-off for the title at Stanley Park on Saturday.

The two teams have been the main contenders throughout the season and the play-off became more of a reality as Braniel reeled off wins in their matches in hand over recent weeks.

To add spice to the occasion Ballymacash had won the Ironside Cup on Boxing Day and Braniel recently lifted the Gordon Hanna Trophy.

But, it was ‘Cash who came out on top when it mattered with Stephen Kidd, Ryan Graham and Dexter Faulkner giving them the vital goals.

Steven Robb got the Braniel consolation goal.

On Tuesday night Ballymacash YM beat Lambeg Rangers 3-0 with Chris Edgar scoring twice and Stephen Kidd the other one.

At the same time Braniel YM were beating Clonduff YM 4-1. Scorers for Braniel were James Belshaw, Glenn Morton and Lewis Irwin 2.

The final Premier League game was played on Saturday and Glaston beat Sandy Row 6-1.

Glaston scorers were Paul McCann 2, Alan McDonnell 2, Jim Mullan and C. McKenna.

• The season comes to a close tonight (Friday) with the Supplementary Cup final between Ballymacash YM and Sandy Row at Stanley Park, 6.30pm.