DUP's Craig defeated in Lagan Valley as Palmer wins seat

The DUP have suffered a rare disappointment as Jonathan Craig lost his Assembly seat tonight in Lagan Valley.

Friday, 6th May 2016, 8:48 pm
Updated Friday, 6th May 2016, 9:52 pm
Jonathan Craig pictured with party leader Arlene Foster in Lisburn recently

Mr Craig, who has been a sitting MLA since 2007, was eliminated as the DUP failed to hold on to their four seats in the constituency.

One of those who won a seat at his expense was Jenny Palmer, who left the DUP for the Ulster Unionists last year.

Mrs Palmer and her fellow Ulster Unionist Robbie Butler were elected on the eighth count, along with Mr Craig’s DUP colleagues Edwin Poots and Brenda Hale, who retained their seats.

Mr Craig won 4,087 first preference votes whereas Alliance’s Trevor Lunn obtained only 3,707. However, Mr Lunn benefited from transfers to get across the line on the seventh count.

The result was a boost for the UUP who were helped by Basil McCrea’s decision not to stand again for election.