Canons are installed at Lisburn Cathedral

editorial image

A service of Installation of Canons in the Chapter of St Saviour, Diocese of Connor, took place in Christ Church Cathedral, Lisburn, on Thursday September 8.

It followed the retirement of the Rev Canon George Irwin, and during the service the Rev Derek Kerr, rector of Drummaul, Duneane and Ballyscullion, was installed as Prebendary of Cairncastle.

Those installed in new positions in the Chapter were: The Rev Canon George Graham – Chancellor; The Rev Canon John Budd – Precentor; and the Rev Canon Jim Carson – Treasurer.

The following positions within the Chapter remain the same: Dean - The Very Rev Sam Wright; Archdeacon of Connor - The Venerable Stephen McBride; Archdeacon of Dalriada - The Venerable Stephen Forde; Prebendary of Kilroot - The Rev Canon William Taggart; Prebendary of Rasharkin - The Rev Canon Chris Easton; Prebendary of Connor- The Rev Canon Peter Galbraith.

The service was well attended, and the preacher was the Dean Sam Wright, rector of Lisburn Cathedral.