Boardmills annual dinner

editorial image

President Agnes Black welcomed everyone including special guest Elizabeth Warden the Federation Chairman, her sister, to the Boardmills WI 65th dinner.

Before the ‘excellent’ meal, provided by George Hanna of The Mulberry Tree Seaforde, honorary certificates were presented to Molly Graham and Helen Todd.

The two new honorary members, along with May Fox, an existing honorary member, and sisters Agnes and Elizabeth cut the anniversary cake.

Federation chairman presented Boardmills WI with an engraved vase.

Brian Johnston (whose mother was one of Boardmills’ founding members) entertained with music stories and jokes.

The competition winners:

Shortbread - 1st Margaret Murphy, 2nd June Kirkpatrick, 3rd Valerie Raymond

Corsage - 1st Valerie Raymond, 2nd Daisy Irvine 3rd May Fox. Pin cushion – 1st Nan McBride, 2nd Daisy Irvine.

The birthday girl was Betty May