Sam’s elected Captain at Lisburn AGM

Lisburn's new captain, Dr Sam Moore with vice captain, Peter Cairns.
Lisburn's new captain, Dr Sam Moore with vice captain, Peter Cairns.

OVER 100 members attended the 108th Annual meeting of Lisburn Golf Club in the Clubhouse last Monday night. The captain, Roy Stewart said that he had enjoyed his year in office and thanked the members and staff for their support. Considering the bad weather during the year, the course was in excellent condition and was closed for only 21 days. He congratulated the efforts of the various team members and thanked them for their commitment during the season. He wished the incoming captain, Dr Sam Moore an enjoyable and successful year.

During 2012 the new putting green had been opened with the reconstruction of the patio. The dramatic improvement had been widely acclaimed by members and visitors. New premises for the green keeper’s sheds and facilities will be the next priority.

Drainage work on the course has already started and will be followed by bunker improvements.

The honorary treasurer, Ernie Taylor announced that the club made a modest surplus for the year which was similar to previous years.

All offices were declared vacant and the president, Ronnie Brooks congratulated Roy on a job well done.

The outgoing captain, proposed Dr Sam Moore as captain for 2013. David McAlpine seconded the proposal which was greeted with acclaim. The new captain was presented with his blazer and a ceremonial putter. He said that he had been a member of Lisburn Golf Club since 1972 and was Competitions convenor for two years.

He proposed Peter Cairns as his vice captain. This nomination was seconded by Noel Robinson.

The following were elected: Honorary Secretary, Maurice Henderson, Honorary Treasurer, Ernie Taylor and new council members, Ken Haslem, Noel Robinson, Ivor Walker and Raymond Warwick.

After the heavy fall of snow earlier in the week followed by the thaw on Wednesday and Thursday, head green keeper Robert Nelson opened the course for play on Saturday morning. A temporary green at the first made it a par three and the second hole was closed. Despite a few damp patches and the cold weather, nearly one hundred hardy golfers were not deterred from competing in the winter league.

Section 1. 1st Trevor Murphy (3) 21pts, 2nd Ian Sayers (7) 20pts, 3rd Ken Haslem (8) 20pts.

Section 2. 1st Mark Jamieson (13) 23pts, 2nd Michael Rooks (13) 20pts, 3rd Jim McBratney (12) 20pts.

Section 3. 1st Mervyn Hewitt (14) 23 pts, 2nd Eddie Rowan (15) 22pts, 3rd Irwin Scott (15) 22pts.

Section 4. 1st Barry McQuillan (16) 22pts, 2nd Neil Thompson (16) 21pts, 3rd Norman Allen (17) 20pts.