Elections 2014 - Killultagh ward declares

A total of 20 candidates will seek nine seats on Nenagh MDC
A total of 20 candidates will seek nine seats on Nenagh MDC

Killultagh crossed the line as the first of Lisburn and Castlereagh’s seven district electoral areas to declare, closely followed by Castlereagh East.

The five seats up for grabs in Killultagh went to the DUP’s Thomas Beckett, William Leathem and James Tinsley, the SDLP’s Pat Catney and Ulster Unionist newcomer Robbie Butler.

Failing to win election were NI21’s David Honeyford, Alliance’s Jonnie McCrea and Sinn Fein’s Mary Kate Quinn.

Thomas Beckett, the first to be declared elected to the new council and possibly the first elected across all 11 supercouncils, also kicked off the speeches by praising the count staff for their hard work and professionalism, sentiments echoed by all the other successful candidates.

All the elected candidates spoke of working in co-operation as a team in the best interests of Killultagh and Lisburn.

In Castlereagh East the six seats went to the DUP’s Tommy Jeffers, David Drysdale and Sharon Skillen, Alliance’s Tim Morrow, Ulster Unionist Hazel Legge and the TUV’s Andrew Girvan.